和平大使庆典

超过5,000人于2014年4月12日(星期六)在香港科学园聚首一堂,参与由香港联合国教科文组织协会及联合国教科文组织本土文化及创意教育研究观测所共同主办的「和平共融遍香江」青年大使计划之“和平大使庆典”。本计划主要赞助单位为香港特区政府民政事务局青年事务委员会。

是次活动邀请到南非总领事馆总领事Mrs Phumelele Gwala及联合国教科文组织世界联合会副主席、中国联合国教科文组织协会全国联合会主席陶西平教授担任「和平大使开幕典礼」主礼嘉宾;并有多位驻港领事馆、国际及社区组织代表出席。

在典礼上,香港联合国教科文组织协会副会长(文化)、「和平共融遍香江」青年大使计划筹委会主席陈达文博士代表主办机构感谢曾经为此计划提供协助的单位及作出贡献的人士。

陈博士致辞时提到今年是第一次世界大战爆发一百周年纪念,他说:「许多人认为人类幸运地避免了其他全球性的冲突,但和平不仅是没有战争,更涵盖政治和平,心灵和平、文化共融、社会和平及生态和平五大概念。」

陈博士亦引用美国首任驻联合国大使爱莲娜‧罗斯福的话「谈和平是不够的,我们必须相信和平。相信和平是不够的,我们必须努力去争取」,来提醒参加者和平是日常生活作出的选择,鼓励大家都要时刻致力为和平而努力。

紧接着开幕典礼,是香港中乐团的音乐演奏及和平巡礼。

当天还有一系列的活动在科学园进行,包括社会和平活动: 「踏出一步迈向新生里程」计划启动礼、和平教育讲座、国家摊位展览、文化表演、装置艺术展览、文化探索工作坊、《和平与梦想》青少年征文比赛大陆赛区展板展览及港式奶茶即场示范。

和平大使庆典是2013-2014和平共融遍香江青年大使计划的重头戏,计划旨在创造平台予不同文化背景的青少年作深入的和平文化交流,通过活动增强青年人对和平及多元文化共融重要性的认识,学会尊重、包容文化的多样性,散播和平种子。来自本地、国际学校的师生,以及国际社区组织,在庆典日以不同型式展示了他们促进和平与认识多元文化项目的成果。

Peacemakers’ Celebration


More than 5,000 people attended the “Peacemakers’ Celebration” of UNESCO HK Peace for All Youth Programme, co-organized by UNESCO Hong Kong Association (“UNESCO HK”) and UNESCO Arts in Education Observatory for Research in Local Cultures and Creativity in Education (“UNESCO RLCCE”), and sponsored by the Commission on Youth, Home Affairs Bureau, HKSAR, on 12 April 2014, Saturday at Hong Kong Science Park. 

Officiating at the Inaugural Ceremony were Mrs Phumelele Gwala, Consul General, South African Consulate General and Professor Tao Xiping, Vice President of the World Federation of UNESCO Clubs Centers and Associations and President of the Chinese National Federation of UNESCO Clubs and Associations together with Guests-of-honour from participating Consulates and a long list of international and community organizations.

On behalf of the organizers, Dr Darwin Chen SBS, Vice President (Culture), UNESCO Hong Kong Association and Chairman of Organizing Committee, UNESCO HK Peace for All Youth Programme thanked all the contributors to the Programme at the ceremony.

To act for peace, Dr Chen mentioned that this year marks the centenary of the start of World War I. “Many believe humankind has been fortunate in avoiding yet another global conflict. But peace is more than the absence of war. Peace goes beyond political peace, encompassing individual peace, cultural peace, social peace and ecological peace as well,” said Dr Chen.

Dr Chen also quoted Eleanor Roosevelt’s saying “It isn’t enough to talk about peace; one must believe it. And it isn’t enough to believe in it; one must work at it.” He reminded us that peace is a choice to be made on each situation, an everyday-life decision. He encouraged participants to take actions that would make a difference to “Peace for All”.

The ceremony was followed by orchestra performance by Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra and Peace Street Arts Parade. 

On the same day, a variety of programmes were also held at the Science Park. They include Social Peace: Care & Dare “A Bright New Horizon” Campaign Kick-off Ceremony, Peace Education Seminar, Peace Booth Exhibition, Installation Arts Exhibition, Cultural Performance, Culture Discovery Workshops, “Peace & Dream” Youth Essay Competition Board Display and Hong Kong Style Milk Tea Demonstration. 

Peacemakers’ Celebration was the highlight of 2013-2014 Peace for All Youth Programme and aimed to strengthen local peace efforts through better understanding of cultural diversity and tolerance of cultural differences, and to encourage intercultural dialogue. Thousands of students and teachers from local and international schools, representatives from the international and community organizations showcased the outcome of their projects promoting peace and intercultural understanding on the Celebration Day.